The Kingdom of God

The good thing about family is the favorite uncle.
The one that makes you laugh and hugs you when you cry. He is everything that you need all rolled into one. He is there for you. ‘Georgesorus’ is what we call our uncle.

The conversation is always pleasant but it typically starts off with who died and which funerals he was able to attend. This is how life is when you get older. So we go down the list and ‘Georgesorous’ tells me the donkey from the annual live Christmas program died in 2015, so no program last year.

At first, my uncle kind-of chuckled and I thought wait-a-minute that donkey had that job for as long as I can remember. I took both of my kids to see the annual play with baby Jesus in a live manger, roman chariots, roman soldiers riding in on horses, sheep, goats, chickens and hay. I’m thinking the donkey could have been 20 years old. I don’t know…but that’s a long time to hold one job, for anybody. At most jobs, he would have received a watch thanking him for his years of service.

My uncle just kept laughing as I repeated this to him but I was absolutely serious. ‘What about the donkey that Jesus rode, I asked? That donkey waited on the Lord. That was his job, could have been his only job tied-up like that. If that donkey didn’t do nothing else but carry Jesus that day then he did it all – Mission Accomplished!’

Well, ‘Georgesorous’ conceded, he laughed and said, ‘You’re right, that donkey had that job for a long time.’ Now, I don’t know if they had a service on the farm or any form of tribute but I will never forget that donkey – He did the Lord’s work.
Listen…one day we might hear the rocks cry out…can you imagine that?

 

Leave a Reply

